Mahama completed only 29 E-Block schools – Education Minister

An E block in a community day school The Mahama administration completed only 29 of its flagship E block community day schools before exiting o

The Vice president, His Excellency Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, Hon. Dr. Yaw Osei Adutwum, Minister For Education donate to Sehwi traditional council
Fees for SHS final-year students slashed by 50%
Parents agitated following GES’ interdiction of Aburi Girls’ headmistress

An E block in a community day school

The Mahama administration completed only 29 of its flagship E block community day schools before exiting office, the Minister of Education, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh has stated.

This assertion is contrary to figures given by the previous administration which put the figure above 50 out of the 200 projects.

Dr. Prempeh made the disclosure on the floor of Parliament on Wednesday while answering questions from Garu Mp Albert Akuka Alalzuuga who sought to find out from the minister measures in place to ensure the completion of the community day SHSs.

The Minister further revealed 21 more of such projects have been completed since the Akufo Addo administration took office.

He assured the ministry is working around the clock to complete some more schools while canceling some contracts to be re-awarded on needs basis

The NDC government had on a number of occasions announced that more than 123 of the schools were at various stages of completion and released a list of the said schools in October 2016 following clamours for evidence of progress on the schools.

Former President Mahama in the NDC Manifesto for Election 2012 promised to build 200 of the day schools between 2013 and 2016 with the intention to build at least 50 each year within the four year period.

But with a few months to Election 2016, the NDC admitted it was not going to be able to achieve that feat. Mr Mahama, however, inaugurated a few of them for use with the announcement that 75 were ready for use.

Below is the list the NDC government released in October 2016:


S/N REGION DISTRICT LOCATION 1 Ashanti Obuasi Municipal Kwanenakwa 2 Ashanti Adansi North Fumso 3 Ashanti Bosomtwe Oyoko 4 Ashanti Sekyere Afram Plains Drobonso 5 Ashanti Adansi South Adansi Apagya 6 Ashanti Atwima Mponua Adobewora 7 Brong Ahafo Tano South Derma 8 Brong Ahafo Pru Abease 9 Brong Ahafo Banda Banda Ahenkro 10 Brong Ahafo Kintampo South Anyima 11 Brong Ahafo Techiman North Krobo 12 Brong Ahafo Dormaa Municipal Danyame 13 Brong Ahafo Asunafo North Kasapin 14 Central Gomoa East Gomoa Gyaman 15 Central Agona East Agona Duakwa 16 Central KEEA Ntranoa 17 Central Awutu Senya Awutu Bawjiase 18 Central Upper Denkyira West Diaso 19 Central Upper Denkyira East Kyekyewere 20 Central Agona West Agona Abodom 21 Central Ekumfi Otuam 22 Eastern Upper West Akim Nyanoa 23 Eastern Denkyembour Takrowasi 24 Eastern Kwahu West Fodoa Nkwakaw 25 Eastern Lower Manya Oborpah 26 Eastern Afram Plains(Kwahu North) Mem-Chemfre 27 G. Accra Ashiaman Michel Camp Community 22 28 Northern Bunkpurugu Yunyoo Bunkpurugu Namong 29 Northern Kpandai Jambuai 30 Northern Bole Bamboi 31 Northern Saboba Wapuli 32 Northern Nanumba South Nakpayili 33 Upper East Bawku West Sapeliga 34 Upper East Talensi Yamiriga 35 Upper East Builsa South Kanjarga-Jiningsa 36 Upper East Kassena-Nankana West Paga Navio 37 Upper West Lambussie Lambussie 38 Upper West Wa West Dorimon 39 Upper West Sissala West Zini 40 Volta Krachi Ntsumuru Chinderi 41 Volta Akatsi South Avenorpeme 42 Volta Nkwanta North Damanko 43 Volta Nkwanta South Nkwanta 44 Volta North Tongu Volo 45 Volta Biakoye Kwamekrom Abornukope 46 Western Nzema East Bamiankor 47 Western Ahanta West Sankor 48 Western Amenfi West Samreboi 49 Western Bibiani Anwhiaso Bekwai Chirano 50 Western Sefwi Wiawso Sefwi Asafo 51 Ashanti Ejura Sekyedumase Ejura 52 Ashanti Ahafo Ano North Manfo 53 Ashanti Asokore Manpong Parkuso 54 Ashanti Asante Akim South Banka 55 Brong Ahafo Nkronza South Donkro-Nkwanta 56 Brong Ahafo Dormaa West Nkwantaso 57 Brong Ahafo Techiman Muncipal Gyarko Techiman 58 Brong Ahafo Jaman North Duadaso No. II 59 Brong Ahafo Jaman South Adamsu 60 Brong Ahafo Wenchi Municipal Buoku 61 Central Mfantsiman Kobina Ansa 62 Central Efutu Attietu 63 Central Ejumako Enyan Essiam Enyanmaim 64 Central Twifo Heman Lower Denkyira Twifo Hemang 65 Eastern Birim North Nyafoman /Amuna Praso 66 Eastern West Akyem Osenase 67 Eastern Atiwa Abomoso 68 Eastern Upper Manya Krobo Sekesua 69 Eastern Yilo Krobo Apersua 70 Eastern Kwaebibrem Akyim Takyiman 71 G. Accra Ledzokuku krowor North West Teshie-Lekma 72 G. Accra Tema Metro Lashibi 73 G. Accra Ada East Kasseh-Ada 74 G. Accra Ada West Koluedor 75 G. Accra Weija Municipal (Ga South) Obom 76 G. Accra Ga West Ga-Odumase 77 Northern Nanumba North Bincheratanga 78 Northern West Mamprusi Nasia 79 Northern East Gonja Salaga Kpalbe 80 Northern Yendi Municipal Wal-Yapala 81 Northern Zabzugu Sabare 82 Northern East Mamprusi Langbinsi 83 Upper East Garu Tempane Salugu 84 Upper East Builsa North Wiaga 85 Upper East Bolga East (Bolgatanga) Gambigo 86 Upper East Nabdam (Tongo) Nangodi-Sakote Junction 87 Upper East Bongo Azeem-Namoo 88 Upper West Lawra Boo 89 Upper West Jirapa Konzokala 90 Upper West Sissala East Wellembelle 91 Upper West Nadowli Kaleo Naro 92 Volta Krachi West Osramanae 93 Volta Agotime-Ziope Ziope 94 Volta Ketu South Agblekpui-Aflao 95 Volta South Tongu Agave Afedume 96 Western Bodi Amoaya 97 Western Juaboso Asempaneye-Breman 98 Western Tarkwa Nsuem Muncipal Nsuem 99 Western Prestea Huni Valley Aboso 100 Western Sekondi Takoradi Assakae 101 Ashanti Kumasi Metropolis Agric Nzema 102 Ashanti Offinso North Asuoso 103 Ashanti Ahafo Ano South Adugyama 104 Brong Ahafo Sene East Bassa 105 Brong Ahafo Kintampo North Municipal New longoro 106 Brong Ahafo Atebubu Amantin New Konkrompe 107 Central Awutu Senya East Municipal Ofaakor-Kasoa 108 Eastern Kwahu Afram Plains South Maame Krobo 109 Eastern Ayensuano Aneum-Apapam 110 Greater Accra Kpone Katamanso Katamanso 111 Greater Accra Adenta Municipal Frafraha 112 Greater Accra Ga East Municipal Kwabenya 113 Northern Mion Sang 114 Northern North Gonja Daboya 115 Northern Gonja Central Mpaha 116 Upper East Pusiga Tambilgu 117 Upper East Binduri Zulugu 118 Upper West Wa East Logu 119 Volta Adaklu Abuadi &Tsrefe 120 Volta Krachi East Yawbram 121 Western Wassa Amenfi Central Manso 122 Western Bia East Adabokrom 123 Western Sefwi Akontombra Nsawora Edumafua